Day 179: An Hour of Your Time

A busy man came home from work one day. His some was at the door to greet him. His son immediately accosted his father with a question: “Daddy, how much do you make per hour?”

His father dismissed this laughingly, such were the questions of young children. But his son persisted, and asked again: “Daddy, how much are you paid per hour?”

Seeing this was going nowhere, the father, exacerbated, replied “If you must know, I make $50 per hour.”

The little boy paused, seemingly thinking very hard. He turned to his dad and asked, “Well then, can I borrow $22?”

The father pulled out his wallet and asked why such a little boy would need so much money. The little boy ran into his room, rummaging under his bed. He returns with a wad of crumpled bills, counting out $28. He took the money from his dad and folded it up, giving it right back this father.

“Daddy, I want to play catch. Can I buy an hour of your time?”

I’m guilty of this often enough that it makes me sad. There is nothing more precious to me than my children, and the thing they want most when I am around is to play with me.

Are you spending your time on the wrong things when the right way to spend your time is there in front of you? Do you miss friends, family, or fun for the wrong reasons? Make a change. Be different. Take the risks and opportunities life affords you.

You’ll never regret being present in the moment.

As always: This is simply my journal as I try to better myself. I hope it inspires you to focus on yourself. Make 2013 YOUR year.

Leave a comment