Update

Since the last few weeks have been chaotic, I’ve had little time to get updates published.   However, as it is late July, I should be at least halfway through the majority of my goals.  Here’s where I stand…

Skills Goals:  Doing pretty well here.

  • Karate (begun 1/3)
  • Making fire without matches or a lighter (7/5)
  • Soap Making
  • (re)Mastering the Rubik’s Cube
  • Small craft woodworking (begun 2/12)
  • Beer Brewing
  • Become proficient with my handgun (begun 1/9)
  • Navigation by stars
  • One-handed shuffling (started practicing 2/27)
  • Baccarat
  • Bird watching (begun 1/3)
  • ???

Physical Goals: Also doing pretty good.

  • Run 182.5 miles in 2013 (see tracking meter to left)
  • Do a Polar Plunge fulfilled 1/1/2013
  • Run another Tough Mudder registered for 9/7 TM on 1/17
  • Run a Warrior Dash (running on Aug 3)
  • Skydive, again (Diving on Aug 11)
  • Workout every day (except for 3 days, I’m on track.)
  • Run a sprint triathlon
  • Summit a mountain over 14,000 feet (climbing this weekend)

The Book List…as you can see, I’m only through 7, when I should be through 12.  In all fairness, however, most of my reading is at night when I’m shuttered indoors…thus in the winter.

8 Non-fiction books
Captivating – John & Stasi Eldredge  Completed 2/1/13
Raising Girls – James Dobson
Killing Lincoln – Bill O’Reilly
How to Win Friends and Influence People – Dale Carnegie Completed 4/17/13
Beautiful Outlaw – John Eldredge Completed 5/3/13
Rules for Radicals – Saul Alinsky
Out of Africa – Karen Blixen
Ball Four – Jim Bouton

8 Classics I haven’t yet read (Chosen from a list of 100 Books to Read Before You Die)
For Whom the Bell Tolls – Ernest Hemingway
The Shack – William P Young
Robinson Crusoe – Daniel Defoe
The Hobbit – JRR Tolkien
On the Road – Jack Kerouac
Education of a Wandering Man – Louis L’Amour
Dracula – Bram Stoker Completed 2/18/13
The Secret Garden – Frances Hodgson Burnett

8 other books of my choosing
Agenda 21 – Glenn Beck Completed 1/3/13
The Wind Through the Keyhole – Stephen King
Pirate Latitudes – Michael Crichton Completed 5/7/13
Into Thin Air – Jon Krakauer Completed 3/13/13

Personal Goals: This is where I am struggling the most.  I’m doing fine on the dishes and charities, but have fallen behind on everything else.  I will be focusing here the most over the next few weeks, to create that habitual desire to do better.

  • Name 52 people who matter/have influence in my life, and why.
  • Watch 13 classic movies I’ve never seen
  • Donate time, energy or money to 12 different charities
  • Complete the pre-reqs for enrolling in an MBA
  • Complete one business certificate/executive course
  • Complete one cooking course
  • Master 12 dishes
  • Finally study my ancestoral history

And now I hear the girls awake and playing in their room, so I must sign off and go be mean daddy.  It’s bedtime.  As always…

This is simply my journal as I try to better myself. I hope it inspires you to focus on yourself. Make 2013 YOUR year.

Leave a Reply

