Day 11, People who Matter to Me: #1 – My Wife

I don’t intend on doing these in any particular order, but this one is glaringly obvious. One of the 52 People Who Matter to Me is my wife.

I’m married to an amazing woman. She, on the other hand, is married to a schlub like me. I feel sorry for her. This is one of the reasons I want to be a better man. I don’t feel worthy of her love; I don’t feel I am her equal in amazing qualities; I don’t feel that I deserve such an amazing mother to our children. However, this is what love is supposed to do- it should make us want to improve ourselves. I even mentioned this to her in our wedding vows when I said “You make me want to be a better man.”

We found each other at different points in our lives. We had vastly different life experiences at that point, but shared one common past sorrow: both of us were previously married and had lived through a divorce. She had spent her entire life in Detroit, grew up an only child to a single mother, and is as driven as the sun is bright. She is also 7 years my senior, although I am FOREVER, and I mean ALWAYS, thought to be the older one, such is her genetic makeup, natural youthful beauty and ageless grace (and such is my receding hairline, pepper&saltier-every-day temples, and increasingly creaking body). She was not seeking a relationship at the time, I was just starting to see someone, and neither of us was seeking the other. Instead, we stumbled upon each other via MySpace and began to communicate. Within weeks it became obvious we shared similar life goals, and following an arranged meeting in Chicago during a business trip for me, I knew I wanted to pursue her heart. We were wed less than a year after we met, and my life has been the better for it ever since, no matter how foul of a mood I am in.

My wife has a capacity to care for people she loves. I admire this. She loves our children and knows our friends far more deeply than I can believe. She has amazing gifts, and is an amazing gift giver, both literally and figuratively. She has supported my love of team sports without ever once asking me to give them up, despite the strain in time it created for years. She supports my decisions regarding our family with a strength I envy. She raises our children with a patience I can only dream of. She is beautiful, sophisticated, sexy, intelligent, observant and opinionated. She challenges me every day.

There are so many ways that she makes me a better person that I can not list them all. For this reason, I’ve started this category with her, for I would not have even begun this project were she not in my life.

Thank you so much for being in my life.

Leave a Reply

