Day 210: Reflections on the 2013 Summit Assault

DSCN4051

My frequency of posts has diminished in the last weeks due to one factor: my wife’s business. Throughout June, we were extremely busy gutting and renovating what would become her studio/workshop. Although I expected good things to come from her jump into the world of brick & mortar retail, neither of us expected how successful she would be almost immediately. Without bragging too much, she has her third magazine interview tomorrow afternoon, and this past weekend alone shipped more orders than the month of May and June combined. It’s been a tremendous blessing, but we are very, very busy.

Consequently, however, I have had almost no access to the computer. Once the kids are in bed, she’s blogging, profiling, filling orders, responding to requests, etc… And being as how we’ve bootstrapped this entire startup without taking out a loan, money is tight and I am sans laptop. Therefore, I am relegated to my work iPad, which is horrendous to type on. But I’ll cowboy up tonight and fill you in on what is going on.

As I said, I’ve been filling most of my free time helping her get on top of how busy she’s become. My very rare free moments that are available to work on this Project have been consumed with the essentials: running, working out, and reading. Beginning last weekend, however, I have a busy 6 week stretch where I will knock out some of the biggest one-off goals: climb a mountain over 14,000 feet, skydive, run a Warrior Dash and complete another Tough Mudder.

Last Thursday began the whole fun filled escapades. My idea of driving to Colorado to summit a 14’er by myself evolved into a 7 person “guys road trip”, culminating in a summit assault on Mt Bierstadt. 3 trusted friends also came along, each bringing their oldest son. The trip was probably as much a rite of passage for these young men as it was an accomplishment for us. It was refreshing to see quality father-son bonding under pressure and fatigue. By Saturday midday, as we rose the final few feet to the top, I don’t think anyone cared anymore about standing on top of the rocks; I believe we were all more proud of the fact that we were together and had bonded well.

MTNTOP

That said, it was still amazing to be 14,060 feet above sea level.  To push your body to an endurance level that you don’t know you have is exhilarating.  To hit a wall which your body says is insurmountable and to go beyond it is incredible.  I’ve done many things in my life that remind me of just how awesome it is to be alive, and this was the latest.

Standing on the peak and looking out over 1,000 foot drops, seeing for miles and miles and realizing that you aren’t even at the highest possible point in your field of vision makes you realize how infinitely small you are in the vastness of creation.  Conversely, seeing how high you’ve come, studying the steep terrain, listening to your aching muscles sing with joy makes you understand how important you are in the grand scheme – no one but you could have made your body fight through the pain to get to the top.  You are amazing in a world full of amazing.

Aside from the joys of raising my arms in triumph on that mountaintop, the trip was filled with camaraderie, laughter and friendship.  As I sit here in bed, reminiscing, I realize that this particular trip will stay with me for a long time.  We’ve begun making plans for the 2014 Summit Assault, and I foresee this becoming a yearly tradition.

As for 2013, this ranks as one of the best accomplishments off my list of goals.  As always…

This is simply my journal as I try to better myself. I hope it inspires you to focus on yourself. Make 2013 YOUR year.

Leave a Reply

