Day 102: Never Say “You’re Wrong.”

I’m in the midst of Dale Carnegie’s How to Win Friends and Influence People and wanted to share a few quick thoughts from this chapter.  It strikes me particularly on point, as I have a penchant for wanting to argue.  I love being right, but lately I’ve discovered that I talk a lot more than I should, and I am trying to rectify that.

Principle 2: Show respect for the other person’s opinions.  Never say, “you’re wrong”.

Men must be taught as if you taught them not
And things unknown proposed as things forgot.
-Alexander Pope

You cannot teach a man anything; you can only help him to find it within himself.
Galileo

Be wiser than other people if you can; but do not tell them so.
Lord Chesterfield, to his son

One thing only I know, and that us that I know nothing.
Socrates

Leave a Reply

