Day 49: Pasta Night

“Cooking is about passion, so it may look slightly temperamental in a way that it’s too assertive to the naked eye.”
-Gordon Ramsey

Knocked out the first of my 12 dishes tonight, one month behind schedule.  We had homemade ravioli tonight.    Believe it or not, despite the fact that I cook often, made it onto TV by cooking pasta, and enjoy all modes of Italian cuisine, I have yet to master ravioli.  I have no idea why I’ve never really tried ravioli (none whatsoever) but I knew I had to wipe it off my to-do’s this year.  Thus, it was A#1 on my list of my 12 Meals to Master.

I’m not going to go into depth regarding recipes and cooking methods on this blog.  There are plenty of other places out there where work of the kitchen can be expounded upon.  Here is not one of them.  This is simply my way of telling you that I forced myself into catching up on one of the goals that I had fallen behind on.

Yes, it was simply cooking; an easy-to-achieve goal.  But sometimes those are the hardest goals to stick to.  We think that the ease of attainment makes it ok to ignore the goal until we’re ready.  We begin to procrastinate, since tomorrow is just as easy as today.  Somewhere down the road, it fails to ever take center stage, and we wind up forgetting about our goal until it is too late.

motivation-quotes-les-brown1

I’ve been guilty of this already.  I’ve been so focused on my working out, my reading, and some of the other goals that I completely forgot I was supposed to be cooking some new dishes.  I went back and opened up the first few pages of my journal tonight to review my goals and see where I am falling behind.  My stovetop is not the only place.

So, I’m making it a point to check back in on my list every few weeks to see where I stand.  I think this is a good idea regardless of how big or small your goals may be.  One should always hold themselves accountable by putting their thoughts, goals and actions into writing.  Then, be sure to check back in and be honest with yourself:  are you living up to the action end of your bargain with yourself?

Are you?

As always: This is simply my journal as I try to better myself. I hope it inspires you to focus on yourself. Make 2013 YOUR year.
Like the Facebook Follow the Twitter

Best-Motivational-Quotes

 

Leave a Reply

