Day 47: A Dinner Date, What is That?


Funny Wedding quotes

Last night my wife and I got to reconnect as a couple.   As part of a Valentine’s Day celebration, we lined up a babysitter and went out on the town for the night.  Side note:  With three kids who don’t sleep in,  “for the night” now means approximately 6-10:30pm. We both got dressed up, I in a shirt and tie, she in a dress I bought her for Christmas, grabbed a bite of sushi to start the evening, followed this up with a stop at our church’s annual Jazz Band Dance, and then finished the evening with a fancy dinner at one of the best-reviewed restaurants in town.

It was a lovely dinner and such a wonderful chance to spend time with the woman I dearly love.  We don’t get to do it often right now.  The kids are not yet old enough to leave them with a babysitter for extended lengths of time, so we wind up structuring our days and nights around sleep schedules.  Between the kids, the household chores and the day-to-day stresses, it is very easy to forget who you and your spouse are individually.

marriage

This is one of the goals my wife and I expressed to each other at our wedding – that we never wanted to lose sight of each other as we are.  The diapers come and go.  Bills will get paid.  Fights happen.  Summers and winters will fly by in the blink of an eye.  But thirty years from now there is only one person who I will be standing with in my arms, on a beach somewhere watching the sun set: my wife.

As much as I enjoyed last night, with the quiet conversation, eye contact and well-coiffed hair, I will continue to try to let her know every day that she is beautiful to me, regardless of the flannel pajamas or hoodies or baby spit-up.

l_e81e39f0-b6ac-11e1-846b-f7134e700003

Quick Blasts:  I’ve nearly finished Dracula, and am continuing to work my way through How to Win Friends… and have continued my devotional every day.  I made positive identification on another new species of bird in the backyard today, the Common Redpoll.  The finish work on the desk is nearly done.  I’ve run 19 miles so far.  My workouts have increased from simple pushups, situps and wall squats to a full routine of lifts and exercises, and I’m slowly seeing results.

As always: This is simply my journal as I try to better myself. I hope it inspires you to focus on yourself. Make 2013 YOUR year.
Like the Facebook Follow the Twitter

Leave a Reply

