Day 42: A Running Perspective

20130211-210101.jpg
Confession: I haven’t been reading a lot of other blogs lately because it’s the new year and I’ve been trying to get my own thoughts under control. I have a few that I follow and read regularly, but as for the others, well, I’ve been a little lax. So when I updated the WordPress app on my iPad tonight, and it opened to my reading list, I perused through a few of the new updates, and I came across this great little post that goes perfectly with the quote I wanted to use today.

Read Ebenezer’s post here: King of the Hills- Running Like a Child

I’ve never been one for recreational running. I prefer to chase and be chased, usually at max sprint speed, and always with the threat of bodily harm through physical contact. Hence my love of football and rugby.   However, as I’ve been on my running kick this year, I’ve slowly developed an appreciation for recreational running. Heck, I’ll be doing at least one 5k run this year, and want to complete a sprint triathlon as well.

A lot of this newfound appreciation has been because I’ve come to realize the cathartic release that comes with running, as your mind begins to focus on your thoughts and your body goes on autopilot. It’s a big change for me, because I usually prefer to switch my brain onto autopilot and focus on my body.
20130211-210147.jpg
Either way, Ebenezer’s article makes a great point…as children, we look forward to running around until we can no longer move. Somewhere towards adulthood, we lose that joy and dread a running workout. Really, though, it’s all a matter of perspective.. Do you choose to look at workouts as tedious or as fun? Do you choose to look at obstacles in your life as barriers or as conquests? It is all a matter of perspective. Trouble is only trouble if you choose to view it as such; otherwise, it is opportunity.

Change your mind and you will change your life.

The evil of the world is made possible by nothing but the sanction you give it.
-Ayn Rand

As always: This is simply my journal as I try to better myself. I hope it inspires you to focus on yourself. Make 2013 YOUR year.
Like the Facebook | Follow the Twitter

Leave a Reply

