Day 41: Live Blogging Thoughts from the Grammys

I’m watching the Grammy’s with the wife because she’s a HUGE music fan. To keep this apropos, and to stay interested, I am going to blog some motivational thoughts as we watch. You’ll learn three things from this.

  1. I can type well on my iPad.
  2. I am naive when it comes to music.
  3. I have a wandering mind.

-Just listened to the band fun. perform. I had no idea who they were, but apparently I know several of their hits. The wife just made fun of my lack of musical awareness for the first time, and it won’t be the last. Great quote about moving forward from the song they just performed:

“May your past be the sound
Of your feet upon the ground”

fun.

-Just checked the awards given away in the non-televised portion of the show. Specifically the Christian music section. We mad the chance to meet MercyMe last Thursday night at the Rock & Worship Road Show in Madison. They were headlining the tour, and while I enjoy their music ( my wife adores them), I really, really liked a new band we heard called The Rhett Walker Band. Very much southern rock mixed with some Chris Cornell vocals. They were up for Best Contemporary Worship Song, but just saw they didn’t win. Oh well, huge and awesome props just to be nominated.

We Are Young wins for Song of the Year. Ok, apparently I know two songs by the band fun.

-Johnny Depp is orange.

-Mumford & Sons. Love them. Another great song with some lyrics I have used already this year in my moments of doubt, and will use again. Reminds me to keep my eyes up, my head straight, my heart fixed upon my goals, and to think outside of the way the world would have me think.

“Now I’ll be bold
As well as strong
And use my head alongside my heart
So tame my flesh
And fix my eyes
A tethered mind freed from the lies”
Mumford & Sons

(Aside: got my first workout in at the Y today…we joined last week. It felt soooooo good to be back in a large gym. There are a lot of things I enjoy in life, but high on the list is that feeling you have of well-earned fatigue from hard work as the evening winds down.)

Every commercial break this same conversation happens- Wife: “Ok, I want to see that next performance, then I’ll go shower. This time I’m serious, I will go after that performance.”

Music expresses that which cannot be said and on which it is impossible to be silent.
Victor Hugo

-In honor of The Black Keys, who absolutely rock:

If you want to make beautiful music, you must play the black and the white notes together.
Richard M. Nixon

And that’s going to do it for me. I have a February premiere to catch now on AMC.

As always, this is my journal (and tonight it was exceedingly random). All I want is for you to be inspired to make 2013 YOUR year.

Leave a Reply

