Day 27, Of Airports and Travel

wpid-20130127_101831.jpgThat’s where I was this morning.  74F and sunny.  Tonight, I will cuddle up next to the wife under a wool blanket and comforter as a moderate ice storm continues to fall outside.  Ah, the wonders of modern travel.

As you can tell from my three previous posts, I’ve been away on business in sunny Orlando.  Travelling for work is not always glamorous.  It can be physically draining and filled with stretches of boredom while at your destination.  However, there is always a positive vibe for me as I sit in airports and on airplanes, thinking about my life.  Travel itself is inherently exciting.  It stimulates our minds and awakens deep yearnings in us, yearnings about change and hope and endless possibilities.  I am always invigorated after travelling.

Over the years, I’ve learned to harness this energy.  Whenever I travel for work, I try to spend the next few days talking to potential customers about big ideas and grand conversions.  I know the boost won’t last forever, but I can tap into it while it is organic and fresh.  In short, I try to maximize its potential.  Some of my best opportunities have been realized following these types of trips.  Expect some good energy from me over the next few days, especially after I sleep off this jet lag.

Another reason that I enjoy travel is the opportunity to tune out the day-to-day and listen to your mind and heart speak.  If I go for a run while I’m at home, I find myself thinking about grocery lists, errands, work commitments and such.  This morning, I threw the headphones on and went for a 2.5 mile run around the resort compound and listened to Jimmy Buffett radio on Pandora.  I didn’t just listen to the songs, though.  I wasn’t worried about making sure we had enough diapers, whether I would make a sale today, or what would be for dinner.  Instead, I knew my tickets were booked, that my bags were packed and lunch would be served.  I found myself actually listening to the music and enjoying the sunlight.   Heard a song that I have always loved with some poignant lyrics which I wanted to pass along, lyrics that I will expound upon in my next post.

Reading departure signs in some big airport
Reminds me of the places Ive been
Visions of good times that brought so much pleasure
Makes me want to go back again
If it suddenly ended tomorrow
I could somehow adjust to the fall
Good times and riches and son of a bitches
I’ve seen more than I can recall

Its these changes in latitudes, changes in attitudes
Nothing remains quite the same
With all of our running and all of our cunning
If we couldn’t laugh we would all go insane

I think about Paris when I’m high on red wine
I wish I could jump on a plane
So many nights I just dream of the ocean
God, I wish I was sailing again
Oh, yesterdays over my shoulder
So I can’t look back for too long
There’s just too much to see waiting in front of me
And I know that I just can’t go wrong
Jimmy Buffett: Changes in Latitudes, Changes in Attitudes

Quick Goals Updates:  Aside from the mileage logged today, I got a light workout (pushups, situps, etc…) in every day and a heavy workout in at the Fitness Center in the resort this morning.  I also kept up with my devotional (I found the book while packing!) and knocked out a quick chapter from the next book on my list, How To Win Friends and Influence People.  We also have a new setup in the backyard with several new bird feeders, which I will introduce once the weather breaks and I can get some outside shots.

As always: This is simply my journal, nothing more, as I try to better myself.  I hope it inspires you to focus on yourself somehow.  Make 2013 YOUR year.
Like the Facebook | Follow the Twitter

Leave a Reply

