Detox, Day One

Wow, I’ve never tasted such delicious cucumbers as I did today.

Aaaannnnnddddd that’s a line I NEVER thought I would say.  But I just did.  And it was true.  I started a three-day detoxification diet today with my wife.  It’s been a desire of mine for several years, but one I never got around to putting much effort into actually trying.

Hungry For Change

Thankfully, my wife had a similar goal this year, so we decided to do it together.  In case you’re interested, this is the specific detox diet we’re currently on: http://www.hungryforchange.tv/article/3-day-detox-plan

Honestly, the worst part is the breakfast drink…it tastes exactly like drinking sushi nori seaweed, and I happen to like sushi.   All-in-all, it’s not been a bad first day.  At the risk of TMI, the only real change I’ve noticed so far is a change in my “bathroom schedule”.

I did pare back a little on the workouts and running today and for the next two days, mostly because my diet is strict and I won’t have much for excess energy to burn.  I clocked in at a mile today at a slower-than-normal pace of 6mph, and relegated my workout to just 50 pushups and 4:00 of wall sits.

In other goal-related news, a very good friend of mine agreed last night to run a sprint triathalon with me, as well as join in the quest to summit a 14’er this year.  It seems my little project here has already inspired at least one person to make a stretch in 2013 and knock out a life goal or two.

Really, that’s all this is.  This is my journal.  I hope it inspires you.  Make 2013 your year.

Leave a Reply

